ATMA Classique ACD2 2215
1 CD
full price
Recorded live in 2001.
Released in 2001.

  • Gloria in excelsis Deo (HWV deest)
  • “Rejoice greatly, O daughter of Zion” (from Messiah, HWV 56)
  • Trio Sonata in D major, Op. 5 No. 2 (HWV 397)
  • Organ concerto in B flat major, Op. 4 No. 2 (3rd movement, HWV 290)
Also includes:
  • J.S. Bach's “Ich esse mit Freuden mein weiniges Brot” (aria from cantata BWV 84) and Sonata (from cantata BWV 182)
  • Vivaldi's “Domine Deus” (aria from Gloria RV 120) and Concerto for oboe, bassoon, strings and continuo (RV 545)

Suzie LeBlanc, soprano
Académie Baroque de Montréal (on period instruments)
Conductor: Alexander Weimann

After Emma Kirkby under Laurence Cummings on BIS and Gillian Keith under John Eliot Gardiner on Philips, this is already the third recording of the Gloria examined by Professor Hans Joachim Marx and attributed - with no absolute certitude - to Handel. However, even if the Gloria was not composed by Handel, it seems certain that he was familiar with it by no later than 1707.

Compared to Suzie Leblanc’s crystal-clear voice, Kirkby’s current sound could now almost be described as fleshy. The Montréal players provide nice accompaniment, and LeBlanc has a good voice and contributes some agile singing. This is a light and perhaps slightly disembodied performance of the Gloria. It is pleasant to listen to yet quite far from Kirkby’s maturity and involvement both in music and text. The rest of the programme is charming and heterogeneous.

© Philippe Gelinaud - June 2002

Return to the G. F. Handel Home Page